nl en

Academic year in Japan A


Students will spend a year in Japan at one of Leiden’s partner universities. The precise destination of each student will be determined early in the first semester, taking into consideration his/her research interests and the profile of each university. At present, Leiden’s partner universities in Japan include: Nagasaki University, Keiô University, Waseda University, Kyoto University, Osaka University of Foreign Languages.

It is the responsibility of the student to maintain contact with his/her Leiden supervisor throughout their stay in Japan (see also Thesis Tutorial 2). Furthermore, all students are required to earn 30 ECTS in Japan by following Japanese language courses OR content courses conducted in the Japanese language. This translates into approximately 15 tan’i in the Japanese system of grade registration. Students should specify which courses they intend to follow during their stay in Japan, using the Japanese Language Acquisition Form (available for download at The form is due to the Examinations Committee on June 1 (semester 1) and October 1 (semester II). Students may also submit a plan for the entire year on June 1.